Labour Department
About the Department

Labour is a concurrent subject under the Constitution of India and both the Central and State Governments are competent to enact legislations subject to certain matters being reserved for the Centre.

Labour Department administer public services to the citizen and stakeholders through 5 (five) Subordinate Offices (SOs), viz.,

- Labour Commissioner (LC),
- Directorate of Employment & Craftsmen Training (DECT), 
- Chief Inspector of Boilers and Factories (CIBF), 
- Employees State Insurance (ESI), 
- Meghalaya Civil Task Force (MCTF).   
- Labour Commissioner

The Office of the Labour Commissioner, Meghalaya, Shillong was created and started functioning in the year 1973. The main responsibility of the Office is to protect and safeguard the interests of workers by ensuring a healthy working environment for higher production and productivity besides safeguarding and ensuring the rights of the workers coming from poor and downtrodden families and working in organized and unorganized sectors are not deprived. The Office of the Labour Commissioner sought to achieved these objectives through the implementation of and enforcement of various labour laws.

Directorate of Employment and Craftsmen Training

The Directorate of Employment and Craftsmen Training consist of two Services Employment Service and Training Service.The Employment Service is rendered through the 11 District Employment Exchanges and 2 Sub-Divisional Employment Exchanges in the State. Training Services is being imparted through a network of 10 Government Industrial Training Institutes spread over the 11 Districts in the State.