Community & Rural Development Department
Title: National rural livelihood mission (nrlm)
N.R.L.M. is a scheme launched by the Government of India in 2011. The mission of the scheme is to reduce poverty by building strong institutions of the poor particularly organising women into Self Help Groups (SHGs) so as to enable the poor households to access gainful self-employment and skilled wage employment opportunities to improve their livelihoods on a sustainable basis. For implementation of the scheme, an autonomous society in the name of Meghalaya State Rural Livelihood Society (MSRLS) headed by the Chief Executive Officer was created in 2012. The programme is rolled out in four pilot blocks viz, Dalu C and R D Block, Rongram C and R D Block, Mairang C and R D Block and Mawkyrwat C and R D Block. During 2016-2017, implementation of the scheme has been expanded to 4 (four) blocks viz, Umsning, Mawkynrew, Resubelpara and Laskein C and R D block. Fund for the programme is shared by the Central and State Government in the ratio of 90:10.
Scheme Beneficiaries:
Destitute Women, Others, Government Institutions/Schools
Scheme Benefits:
Wages, Self employment
Age From: