Elections Department
About the Department

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer of Meghalaya functions under the Superintendence, directions and control of Election Commission of India. Its major tasks are conduct of Elections to the Legislative Assembly of Meghalaya, House of People (Lok Sabha), Council of States (Rajya Sabha), Office of President and Vice President of India, Preparation and updation of Electoral Rolls, Issue of Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPICs) to voters, Rationalization/Reorganization of polling stations, Voter’s Education as per the relevant provisions of acts, rules and instructions issued by the Election Commission of India from time to time.

Meghalaya state was born on 21st January 1972. It has 60(sixty) Legislative Assembly Constituencies, 2(two) House of People (Lok Sabha) Constituencies and 1(one) Council of States (Rajya Sabha) Constituency. It has 2(two) Divisions and 11(eleven) Districts. The Khasi and Jaintia Hills division consists of 36(thirty six) Legislative Assembly Constituencies and 1(one) Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) Constituency. The Garo Hills division has 24(twenty four) Legislative Assembly Constituencies and 1(one) Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) Constituency. The total population of the state is 29.64 lakhs as per 2011 census. The total number of voters at the beginning of 2011 is 13,16,201 and it has 100% coverage of Photo Electoral Rolls and EPICs.

This site has been designed to provide requisite information to the members of public regarding the election machinery, their electoral rights and procedures to be followed etc. The site also provides ready access to Electoral Rolls of the state, the Electoral Roll Management Systems (ERMS) software and downloading of various Statutory Forms.