Social Welfare Department
About the Department

Constituted as an Independent Directorate in 1974. Deals with Human Resource Index and Development. Falls under three Ministry of Government of India – Ministry of Women and Child Development, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment and Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

Ministry of Women and Child Development: 

  • Integrated Child Development Services
  • Juvenile Justice Act

 Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment: 

  • Disability Sector
  • Social Defence
  • Aged and Infirm

Ministry of Tribal Affairs: 

  • Financial Assistance to NGOs working for the upliftment of Scheduled Tribes.
Other Details

The thrust area of the Department are diverse ranging from Child Development to Women’s Status in the family and society, nutrition, disability, juvenile delinquents, issue of violence against women and children, old aged and infirm, and networking with NGOs and Government allied Departments •Areas of operation covers in all the seven (7) districts and 39 ICDS Projects at the respective Community and Development Blocks and two Urban areas Shillong & Tura. • Directorate of Social Welfare •1 Joint Directorate Headquarter Tura •7 District Social Welfare Officers (DSWOs) •5 District Programme Officers ICDS (DPOs) •3 Superintendent Training Centre for Self Employment for Women (TSEW) •41 Child Development Project Officers (CDPOs) •3 Observation Homes •1 Shelter Home •1 MLTC •2 AWTCs