GOVERNMENT OF MEGHALAYA URBAN AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT *******

NOTIFICATION

Dated Shillong the 19th February, 2025

UAU.88/2024/314 :- The Government is pleased to constitute the Zonal Task Force(s) in Shillong, Meghalaya in compliance to the Honourable High Court of Meghalaya's order dated 28.10.2024 in PIL No. 17/2021. The Zonal Task Force(s) shall be responsible for strategizing and planning activities to alleviate traffic congestion in their respective zones, addressing issues of on-street parking and the encroachment/of roads and footpaths due to street vending activities.

The members of the Zonal Task Force are as follows:

Sadar Traffic Branch:

- 1) Shri. Shanborlang Warjri, Additional District Magistrate (ADM)
- 2) Shri. Swapan Dasgupta, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Sadar Traffic Branch
- 3) Shri. Zubestar Kharbuki, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 4) Shri. Risstar Khongknaw Junior Engineer, PWD Department

Lumdiengjri Traffic Branch:

- 1) Smti. Dahun Shisha Lyngdoh, Executive Magistrate (EM)
- Shri. Dawan-o S. R Lakiang, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Lumdiengjri Traffic Branch
- 3) Smti. Shimda Fancon, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 4) Shri. Augustine Nongsiej, Junior Engineer, PWD Department

Laitumkhrah Traffic Branch

- 1) Shri. Silvester Phanbuh, Executive Magistrate (EM)
- Shri. Mathius Marboh, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Laitumkhrah Traffic Branch
- 3) Shri. Radolf Lyngdoh, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 4) Shri. Banrich Warjri, Junior Engineer, PWD Department

Madanrting Traffic Branch:

1) Smti. Prettylisa K. Sangma, Additional District Magistrate (ADM)

- Shri. Wekeenfield Suting, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Madanrting Traffic Branch
- 3) Shri. Hun Bareh, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 4) Shri. Angelo M Pala, Junior Engineer, PWD Department

Rynjah Traffic Branch:

- 1) Smti. M. Lakiang, Additional District Magistrate (ADM)
- 2) Shri. Utpal De, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Rynjah Traffic Branch
- 3) Shri. Hun Bareh, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 4) Shri. Tiral Khasain Shabong, Junior Engineer, PWD Department

Mawlai Traffic Branch:

- 1) Shri. R. Wahlang, Additional District Magistrate (ADM)
- Shri. Kynmobiang Kyndait, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Mawlai Traffic Branch
- 3) Smti. Bianca Jyrwa, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 4) Shri. Pynskhem Hujon, Junior Engineer, PWD Department

Laban Traffic Branch:

- 1) Smti. D. Kharshiing, Additional District Magistrate (ADM)
- Shri. John Paul Lakiang, Sub-Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Laban Traffic Branch
- 3) Shri. Kriti Basak, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 4) Shri. Noverious Lyngdoh, Junior Engineer, PWD Department.

Terms and reference of the Zonal Task Force (s):

- Recommend parking and no-parking zones, as well as related traffic interventions such as one-way streets, designated loading/unloading areas, and other measures to improve traffic flow and reduce congestion.
- To engage with the respective Dorbar Shnongs, Shillong Municipal Board, Autonomous District Councils, and communities to demarcate parking zones and establish a mechanism for collecting parking fees in these areas.
- 3) To recommend potential vending zones in the areas to the Town Vending Committee.

Sd/-Dr Vijay Kumar D., IAS Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya Urban Affairs Department

Memo UAU.88/2024/314 -A

Copy to:

- 1. P.S. to the Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister i/c Urban Affairs Department for kind information of the Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister
- 2. The P.A. to the Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya, Urban Affairs Department for kind information of the Commissioner & Secretary.
- 3. The P.A. to the Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya, Home Department for kind information of the Commissioner & Secretary.
- 4. The P.A. to the Inspector General of Police (Law & Order), for kind information of the Inspector General of Police.
- 5. The Additional Advocate General, High Court of Meghalaya.
- 6. The Commissioner of Transport, Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 7. The Secretary to the Government of Meghalaya, Public Works Department.
- 8. The Deputy Commissioner, East Khasi Hills District.
- 9. The Superintendent of Police, East Khasi Hills District.
- 10. The Superintendent of Police (Traffic), Shillong.
- 11. The Director, Urban Affairs, Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 12. The Chief Engineer, PWD (Roads)
- 13. The Director Printing & Stationery, Meghalaya, Shillong for necessary action.
- 14. The Senior Informatics Officer, NIC, Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 15. Shri. Shanborlang Warjri, Additional District Magistrate (ADM), East Khasi Hills District.
- 16. Smti. Dahun Shisha Lyngdoh, Executive Magistrate (EM), East Khasi Hills District.
- 17. Shri. Silvester Phanbuh, Executive Magistrate (EM), East Khasi Hills District.
- Smti. Prettylisa K. Sangma, Additional District Magistrate (ADM), East Khasi Hills District.
- 19. Smti. M. Lakiang, Additional District Magistrate (ADM), East Khasi Hills District.
- 20. Shri. R. Wahlang, Additional District Magistrate (ADM), East Khasi Hills District.
- 21. Smti. D. Kharshiing, Additional District Magistrate (ADM), East Khasi Hills District.
- 22. Shri. Swapan Dasgupta, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Sadar Traffic Branch.
- 23. Shri. Dawan-o S. R Lakiang, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Lumdiengjri Traffic Branch.

- 24. Shri. Mathius Marboh, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Laitumkhrah Traffic Branch.
- 25. Shri. Wekeenfield Suting, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Madanrting Traffic Branch.
- 26. Shri. John Paul Lakiang, Sub-Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Laban Traffic Branch
- 27. Shri. Utpal De, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Rynjah Traffic Branch.
- Shri. Kynmobiang Kyndait, Inspector, Meghalaya Police, In-Charge, Mawlai Traffic Branch
- 29. Shri. Zubestar Kharbuki, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 30. Smti. Shimda Fancon, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 31. Shri. Radolf Lyngdoh, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 32. Shri. Hun Bareh, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 33. Shri. Kriti Basak, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 34. Smti. Bianca Jyrwa, Assistant Urban Planner, Directorate of Urban Affairs
- 35. Shri. Tiral Khasain Shabong, Junior Engineer, PWD Department
- 36. Shri. Pynskhem Hujon, Junior Engineer, PWD Department
- 37. Shri. Risstar Khongknaw Junior Engineer, PWD Department
- 38. Shri. Augustine Nongsiej, Junior Engineer, PWD Department
- 39. Shri. Banrich Warjri, Junior Engineer, PWD Department
- 40. Shri. Angelo M Pala, Junior Engineer, PWD Department
- 41. Shri. Noverious Lyngdoh, Junior Engineer, PWD Department

By order etc.,

Joint Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya Urban Affairs Department. *****