GOVERNMENT OF MEGHALAYA ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR

NOTIFICATION

Dated Shillong, the 28th March, 2024

No.GAA.75/99/332, dt. 28.03.2024 - The Governor of Meghalaya is pleased to declare that all State Government Offices and Educational Institutions shall remain closed on the 19th April, 2024 in order to enable the voters to exercise their franchise in connection with the GENERAL ELECTION TO LOK SABHA, 2024. Industrial undertaking or any of the establishment governed by N.I. Act, 1881, shops and those which work on shift basis, a daily wage, casual worker including those working outside the Constituency shall be entitled to the benefit of a paid holiday as provided in Section 135 (B) of The Representation of the People Act, 1951.

Sd/-

(Shri. C.V.D. Diengdoh, IAS) Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya General Administration Department

Dated Shillong, the 28th March, 2024

Memo. No.GAA.75/99/332-A,

Copy to:-

1. The Principal Secretary to the Governor of Meghalaya, Raj Bhavan, Shillong.

- 2. The P.S to Chief Minister/Deputy Chief Minister/Ministers.
- 3. The P.S to Chairman/Deputy Chairman.
- 4. The P.S to Chief Secretary/Additional Chief Secretary.
- 5. The P.S to Principal Secretaries/Commissioner & Secretaries/Secretaries.
- 6. The Registrar General, Meghalaya High Court, Shillong.
- 7. The Director General of Police, Shillong.
- 8. The Vice Chancellor, N.E.H.U, Shillong.
- 9. The Accountant General (Account/Audit) Shillong.
- 10. The Commissioner of Division, Khasi & Jaintia Hills, Shillong/Garo Hills, Tura.
- 11. The Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya, Election Department & Chief Electoral Officer, with reference to his letter No.EL.127/2023/93 dated 16.03.2024.
- 12. The Commissioner of Income Tax, N.E. circle, Shillong.
- 13. The Secretary, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, Shillong.
- 14. The Deputy Commissioners, Shillong, Jowai, Nongpoh, Nongstcin, Mawkyrwat, Khliehriat, Mairang, Tura, Williamnagar, Baghmara, Resubelpara, Ampati.
- 15. The General Manager, Tele-communication, N.E. Tele-cum-circle, Shillong.
- 16. The Post Master General Circle, Shillong.
- 17. The Director of Postal Services, North East Circle, Shillong.
- 18. The Secretary, M.P.S.C., Shillong.
- 19. The Secretary, Me.E.C.L, Shillong/Other Heads of the State Government Corporations/Undertakings.
- 20. The Secretary District Councils, Khasi Hills Shillong, Jaintia Hills and Garo Hills, Tura.
- 21. The Secretary, N.E.C., Secretariat, Shillong.
- 22. The Director of Information and Public Relation, Shillong.
- 23. The Director of Higher and Technical Education.
- 24. The Director of Printing & Stationery, Shillong.
- 25. The Station Director AIR, Shillong/Director Doordarshan Kendra Shillong.
- 26. The Chief Executive Officer, Shillong Municipality Board.
- 27. The Chief Executive Officer, Jowai Municipality Board.
- 28. The Chief Executive Officer, Tura Municipality Board.
- 29. The Labour Commissioner, Meghalaya, Shillong. He is requested to issue necessary instruction to commercial and Industrial establishments in the private sectors to declare a paid holiday for their workers on the day of poll (19.04.24).
- 30. The Chief Inspector of Boilers and Factories, Meghalaya, Shillong. She is requested to declare the weekly holiday on the day of poll (19.04.24) instead of the first day of the week as provided in the Section 52 of the Factories Act, 1948 in respect of Factories.
- 31. All Secretariat Departments (Civil/PWD).
- 32. All Heads of Departments.
- 33. The S.D.O. (C) Sohra, Amlarem, Dadenggre, Pynursla, Chokpot, Raksamgre, Mawshynrut, Ranikor, Patharkhmah, Rongjeng, Jengjal, Dalu.
- 34. The Regional Manager, S.B.I Main Branch, Shillong.
- 35. The General Secretary Bank Associations c/o I.O.B. Morrellow Bui ding Shillong 793001.

Under Secretary to the Govt. Meghalaya General Administration (A) Department

By Order etc.,