Text Size

  • Decrease
  • Normal
  • Increase

Page Style

  • White/Black
  • Standard


22,429 Sq. Km.
Khasi, Pnar, Garo & English
132 Per Sqr.Km
75.48 %

History And Geography

Sl.No. District Name Sl.No. Block Name
1 East Khasi Hills District
Hqr: Shillong
1 Mylliem C&RD Block
2 Mawphlang C&RD Block
3 Mawsynram C&RD Block
4 Shella Bholaganj C&RD Block
5 Pynursla C&RD Block
6 Khatarshnong Laitkroh C&RD Block
7 Mawkynrew C&RD Block
8 Mawryngkneng C&RD Block
9 Sohiong C&RD Block
10 Mawpat C&RD Block
11 Mawlai C&RD Block
2 West Khasi Hills District
Hqr: Nongstoin
12 Mairang C&RD Block
13 Mawthadraishan C&RD Block
14 Nongstoin C&RD Block
15 Mawshynrut C&RD Block
3 South West Khasi Hills District
Hqr: Mawkyrwat
16 Mawkyrwat C&RD Block
17 Ranikor C&RD Block
4 Ri Bhoi District
Hqr: Nongpoh
18 Umsning C&RD Block
19 Umling C&RD Block
20 Jirang C&RD Block

21 Bhoirymbong C & RD Block
5 West Jaintia Hills District
Hqr: Jowai
22 Thadlaskein C&RD Block
23 Laskein C&RD Block
24 Amlarem C&RD Block
6 East Jaintia Hills District
Hqr: Khliehriat
25 Khliehriat C&RD Block
26 Saipung C&RD Block
7 East Garo Hills District
Hqr: Williamnagar
27 Dambo Rongjeng C&RD Block
28 Songsak C&RD Block
29 Samanda C&RD Block
8 West Garo Hills District
Hqr: Tura
30 Rongram C&RD Block
31 Dadenggiri C&RD Block
32 Selsella C&RD Block
33 Tikrikilla C&RD Block
34 Gambegre C&RD Block
35 Dalu C&RD Block

36 Demdema C & RD
9 North Garo Hills District
Hqr: Resubelpara
37 Resubelpara C&RD Block
38 Kharkutta C&RD Block
39 Bajengdoba C&RD Block
10 South West Garo Hills District
Hqr: Ampati
40 Betasing C&RD Block
41 Zikzak C&RD Block

42 Damalgre C & RD Block
11 South Garo Hills District
Hqr: Baghmara
43 Baghmara C&RD Block
44 Gasuapara C&RD Block
45 Ronggara C&RD Block
46 Chokpot C&RD Block

Tucked away in the hills of eastern sub-Himalayas is Meghalaya, one of the most beautiful State in the country. Nature has blessed her with abundant rainfall, sun-shine, virgin forests, high plateaus, tumbling waterfalls, crystal clear rivers, meandering streamlets and above all with sturdy, intelligent and hospitable people.

Emergence of Meghalaya as an Autonomous State on 2nd April 1970 and as a full-fledged State on 21st January 1972 marked the beginning of a new era of the geo-political history of North Eastern India. It also marked the triumph of peaceful democratic negotiations, mutual understanding and victory over violence and intrigue.

The State of Meghalaya is situated on the north east of India. It extends for about 300 kilometres in length and about 100 kilometres in breadth. It is bounded on the north by Goalpara, Kamrup and Nowgong districts, on the east by Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills districts, all of Assam, and on the south and west by Bangladesh.

Shillong, the capital of Meghalaya is located at an altitude of 1496 metres above sea level. Shillong, which was made Assam's capital in 1874, remained so till January 1972, following the formation of Meghalaya. The capital city derives its name from the manifestation of the creator called Shyllong.

Meghalaya is subject to vagaries of the monsoon. The climate varies with altitude. The climate of Khasi and Jaintia Hills is uniquely pleasant and bracing. It is neither too warm in summer nor too cold in winter, but over the plains of Garo Hills, the climate is warm and humid, except in winter. The Meghalayan sky seldom remains free of clouds.