Text Size

  • Decrease
  • Normal
  • Increase

Page Style

  • White/Black
  • Standard


The Government of Meghalaya is also known as the State Government of Meghalaya or locally as State Government. It is the supreme governing authority of the state of Meghalaya and its 11 districts. The Districts are further divided into Subdivisions and Blocks. There are a total 46 blocks in Meghalaya. The Blocks are further subdivided into Gram Sevak Circles. There are 15 Gram Sevak Circles in each Block. The Deputy Commissioner is the head of the district administration.

The Governor of Meghalaya is the head of the state and is appointed by the President of India on the advice of the Central Government.

The Chief Minister of Meghalaya is the head of the Government and is vested with most of the executive powers.

Shillong is the capital of Meghalaya, and houses the Legislative Assembly and the Secretariat. The High Court of Meghalaya is located in Shillong and exercises the jurisdiction and powers in respect of cases arising in the State of Meghalaya.

Meghalaya State has a population of 29,64,007 and covers an area of 22,429 Sq. Km. The administrative units of the State are:
Districts 11
Blocks 46
Villages 6839
Towns 22
Gram Sevak Circles 15 in each blocks
Municipal Boards 6
Cantonment Board 1

Lok Sabha Constituencies


Assembly Constituencies