Text Size

  • Decrease
  • Normal
  • Increase

Page Style

  • White/Black
  • Standard
South West Garo Hills
District Head Quarters
History And Geography

Ampati Civil Sub-Division was notified as a full-fledged Civil Sub-Division with effect from 8th October, 1982 under Government Notification No HPL539/81/82, dated 6th October, 1982.
And whereas, for public convenience and better administration, the Governor of Meghalaya considers it necessary to upgrade the said Ampati Civil Sub-Division of West Garo Hills District Into a full-fledged District.
And whereas, the new District will comprise all the villages failing under the two Community & Rural Development Blocks viz, Betasing Community & Rural Development Block and Zik Zak Community & Rural Development Block including 33 (Thirty-three) villages under Mukdangra Gram Sevak Circle and Garobadha Gram Sevak Circle of Selsella Community & Rural Development Block, 24 (twenty four) villages under Okkapara Songma Gram Sevak Circle and Chengkuregre Gram Sevak Circle of Gambeggre Community & Rural Development Block, 13 (Thirteen) villages under Jarangkona Gram Sevak Circle of Dalu Community & Rural Development Block and Anggalgre village of Rongkhongre Gram Sevak Circle of Rongram Community & Rural Development Block as listed in the Schedule-I to the Notification with the following boundaries :
North - Assam and West Garo Hills District
South - Bangladesh
East - West Garo Hills District
West - Assam and Bangladesh
Now, therefore the Governor of Meghalaya is pleased to order that the Ampati Civil Sub-Division be upgraded into a District to be known as "South West Garo Hills District" wih headquarters at Ampati.  This order shall take effect on and from 7th August, 2012.