Text Size

  • Decrease
  • Normal
  • Increase

Page Style

  • White/Black
  • Standard
Education Department
Department / Office Profile

 The Education Department is headed by Minister of Education, Govt. of Meghalaya. In the Secretariat, The Principal Secretary leads the Team with four Secretaries, Jt. Secretaries and Dy. Secretaries. The Department is divided into three Directorates namely, Directorate of Higher & Technical Education, Directorate of School Education & Literacy, and Directorate of Educational Research and Training at the State Level.

At the District Level, the Inspector of Schools leads the Team with Dy. Inspectors at the Sub-division for the School Education. The District Institute of Educational Training (DIET) at the Districts are the Units of DHTE.

While the Directorates are located at Shillong office of the Director of Higher Technical Education, the Offices of Inspector of Schools are located at their respective District Headquarters, and the Offices of Deputy Inspectors are located at the sub-divisional headquarters

Other Informations

The Meghalaya Board of School Education is an Autonomous body of the Education Department which was established in 1973. Its Headquarter is located at Tura, West Garo Hills and headed by the Executive Chairman of the Board.
Contact Particulars of Heads of Departments and Undertakings
Directorate / Commissionerate
Directorate of Educational Research and Training
Undertakings / Boards
Meghalaya Board of School Education